Comprehensive Guide to Medical Specialist Licensing in the United Arab Emirates / UAE

Comprehensive Guide to Medical Specialist Licensing in the United Arab Emirates / UAE

The UAE/ United Arab Emirates comprises seven, each with distinct medical licensing regulations. To facilitate understanding, we categorize the Emirates into different groups based on their licensing systems:

1. Dubai: Governed by the Dubai Health Authority (DHA).

2. Northern Emirates: Including Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, Fujairah & Ras Al Khaimah. Here, the Ministry of Health (MOH) licensing is accepted.

3. Western Region: Encompassing Abu Dhabi & Al Ain. Health Authority Abu Dhabi (HAAD) and the Department of Health (DOH) are accepted.

License Categories:

There are three main license categories in the UAE:

– General Practitioner

– Specialist

– Consultant

Eligibility Requirements for Specialist License:

To practice as a specialist in the UAE, the following prerequisites must be met:

– Completion of medical graduation.

– Possession of a postgraduate degree.

– At least 3 years of experience in the relevant field.

– Surgical & allied specialists require a last 2 years’ logbook.

– No gaps in clinical practice exceeding 2 years.

Required Documents for Application:

Essential documents for the licensing process include:

– MBBS Degree

– Postgraduate Degree

– Valid Passport

– Passport-sized photo with a white background

– Clinical experience certificates

– Logbook for Surgical & Allied specialists

– Medical Council registration

– Good Standing Certificate (GSC): not older than 6 months

– Letter of Authorization (available on dataflow or respective authority webpage)

Exemption from Prometric Examination:

There are no exemptions for Specialist examinations. Candidates must undergo the relevant licensing examination conducted by Prometric or Pearson Vue.

Exam Pattern for Specialists:

– Written examinations typically consist of 150 speciality-specific questions.

– No negative marking is applied.

Guide to Medical Specialist Licensing in the United Arab Emirates

Application Process:

1. Create an account on the respective authority’s website (DHA, MOH, or DOH).

2. Check eligibility using the online tool.

3. Register with DataFlow for document verification.

4. Book assessment test via Prometric or Pearson Vue.

5. Upon passing the exam, a job search in the Emirate can commence.

6. The employer will initiate the licensing process upon securing a job.

Application Process Expenses (Approximate):


– Application Fee: 220 AED / $59.95

– DataFlow Fee: 1370 AED / $373.30

– Prometric Exam Fee: 1028 AED / $280


– Application Fee: 510 AED / $140

– DataFlow Charges: 1620 AED / $443

– Prometric Exam Charges: 500 AED / $137

Navigating the medical licensing process in the UAE requires careful attention to each Emirate’s specific regulations. By fulfilling the eligibility criteria and following the outlined application steps, medical specialists can obtain licensure to practice in their respective fields across the Emirates.

About Writer

Picture of News

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Trust us we don't spam